Farewell Starman


David-Bowie-Lazarus-video-640x355

I was just 19 when I first became aware of David Bowie’s music in the  summer of ’72. His hit record “Starman” was being played constantly on the radio. Then I heard “Life on Mars” and I was hooked. I avidly bought up all of his existing  LPs and then every new one during the 1970s. He was not always the popular artist he will be remembered as. In  the early 1970’s he was dismissed by some as yet another glam rock artist. The musical press did not originally like him  either, with cynicism about his “final” performance as Ziggy Stardust. Many people just did not get him at first. Then again he was doing something no artist had done before. He tore up the rule book and did whatever he liked. He explored new musical genres and invented new persona’s. He succeeded brilliantly with every thing  he tried. He invented countless new riffs and melodies.  He could play a host of musical instruments.

Not content with singing he also successfully explored mime, film and theatre. David Bowie was incredibly talented but never stood still,  he was always changing, embracing new ideas. Now, already a legend, he has boldly gone where no-one has gone before. He has stage-managed his own death which happened just two days after his 69th birthday and two days after the release of his final album Blackstar. He appears to have written, sung  and performed his own epitaph and of course only one person was required for this, his last video. This haunting work is going to be talked about forever. He clearly knew he was going and left behind one amazing final performance for his fans. How lucky we were to have  witnessed so many great performances and so much great music. Thanks for the music David and thanks for the memories. I will leave you with the first line of one of his last songs and which he performs in a video..

“Lazarus”

“Look up here, I’m in  heaven”

What an incredible life and what an incredible way to end it. RIP Starman

 

 

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in David Bowie, Historical crime, Starman, Ziggy Stardust and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

