Hathersage: A Walk Through Jane Eyre Country


Brilliant little blog about Charlotte Bronte and some of her inspirations for writing Jayne Eyre… and they are just down the road in Hathersage Derbyshire! I am fascinated by the lives of writers, how their upbringing, their environment, their experiences helped to shape both them and their writing. Now I can use this handy guide to follow in the footsteps of Charlotte Bronte. What did she see in Hathersage? What was she thinking about? Why did certain buildings fire her imagination? I have already walked in the hills around Haworth and can see similarities between that location and the Dark Peak where I now live. Both have a rugged beauty all of their own. Both have the haunting cries of curlews. But both can also be dangerous and spooky when the mists come down. This blog has inspired me to go look at Hathersage in a very different light…. and maybe even to write about it!

These are the mumblings of writer Mike Sheridan who is currently writing his third book…….

Visit Peak District & Derbyshire

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë is a much-loved and classic Nineteenth Century novel, the roots of which are embedded deeply into the lands of the Peak District!

In 1845, Charlotte travelled by caoch to a part of the Peak District that would influence her book tremenously, the village of Hathersage.

We are here to tell you which parts of the book you can still visit today, so you can lose yourself in a Charlotte Brontë’s world to a much greater extent!

First stop on Jane Eyre’s walk of Hathersage is:

The George Inn

After a long and weary stage coach trip up to the Peak District, Charlotte Bronte would have arrived at her final destination- The George Inn. The name of this Inn’s Landlord was none other than Mr Morton, a name we would recognise from being the name of the novel’s fictitious village where Jane becomes a school teacher.

View original post 490 more words

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in Historical crime. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

