A year in the Life of an Indie Writer


Hello again Readers

Exactly one year ago today I uploaded my first book to the Kindle Book Store on Amazon. Launched on a wing  and a prayer, it was the realisation of a dream. I sent no drafts away  to publishers or agents. I was using modern technology to become a self published author or “Indie” writer. It was a steep learning curve with many problems to solve. E-books are not like standard books and you never really know how the upload and conversion  process will change the layout of your book. It took me six revisions to be finally satisfied. No writer can  ever judge demand or interest for their books or writing. Publishing your book is one thing, getting publicity for it is quite another. The key question is this… will people actually pay for my book? My knowledge and understanding of how search engines work came in very handy. By using blogs from WordPress and building in the right words my first book was soon appearing on page 1 of a google search for my target keywords. I also used a local history forum to publicize my book. One year later and I pleased and proud to report that my first book Saville’s Spinney has been downloaded over 1000 times. I  have received four royalty cheques from Amazon totalling £558.43 and that was not for  the full twelve months. I realise that may be small beer to some but I am more than content. I am  getting consistent sales and have 8 reviews, 7 of which are 5 stars!

I have not let  the grass grow under my feet! Buoyed by the reception for my first book I started looking for another interesting historical crime story. As with my first book I found it whilst looking for something entirely different. I traced a list of executions in Nottingham in the 1800s and came across a reference to murderers who did not hang.  This lead me to the amazing story of Sarah Barber so I was back on the research trail again. I completed my research for the second book with two visits to the Central Library in Nottingham in March 2015. My second book “Arsenic Sally” was published on Amazon on the 1st of April. I am  currently researching material for my third book, again about historical crime. I see no end to this new publishing  venture. There are so many leads to follow and so many interesting stories to bring to print so I should be busy for years.

Away from  my self-publishing I also formed a new writing group for fellow spirits in my local U3A – a society for retired people like myself. I want to help fellow writers and support them with their own  writing ventures. In short it has been a very interesting  and productive twelve months. I have to be honest and admit if my first book had sunk without trace on Amazon I doubt I would have continued. That said I knew I had found an amazing story and an interesting way to write it. I am  exploiting skills I have had for many years and  know how to search and find information. I have been trained to write accounts from primary sources and also to analyse and understand information. Importantly I am determined and able to work to deadlines and  targets. I hope  there will be many more books  to come and see no reason why that should not come to pass. For those who may like to see my writing I have provided links below to my two books on  Amazon where you can look inside and read the first two or three chapters free of charge.

This is Indie writer and self-published author Mike Sheridan signing off for now. Good luck with your reading and writing ventures. For those who may be thinking about writing and or publishing a book I have a message!  What the hell are you waiting for?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Savilles-Spinney-Story-Colwick-Murders-ebook/dp/B00M20HOPU/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Arsenic-Sally-Curious-Eastwood-Poisoner-ebook/dp/B00VKUSIDK/

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in 1844, 1844 Hanging, Arsenic Sally, assizes court, Becoming and Indie Author, Book Cover Design, Born writers, Colwick, Colwick Murder 1844, Cut-throat murder, Deaths at a Hanging, Historical crime, Nottingham gaol, Saville's Spinney, Transportation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

