Saville’s Spinney is Go! 5 Days to Launch………… How my book began


Hello again readers

Almost there now. My dream of writing my first book has become reality, my long journey is over. I just need to complete my bibliography and reference page and the writing will be complete. A final proof read should resolve any outstanding problems or errors. The book is already formatted using headings and page breaks and ready to be saved as a filtered html file. In just five days I will upoad it to Amazon where it will be available to download as an e-book. I wont be going cap in hand to any publisher or agent. From day one I was determined to make good use of technology, the internet and social media.  I stumbled upon this story via an internet search for information about an old factory close to where I used to live in Carlton. I found the name of the company alright in a paragraph on a Nottinghamshire history website…

“In 1844 William Saville murdered his wife and three children in a spinney in Colwick Woods. This spinney was always known as “Saville Spinney” from that day. It was the one which lay at the rear of Sands, Steel Erectors Works on Vale Road, which has now been built on. The local legend states that a boy was playing truant from school and was getting eggs from a nest in the tree, underneath which Saville Committed his crimes, and it was a long time before he dare come down and break the news of the murders”

Source “http://www.nottshistory.org.uk/books/colwick/colwick7.htm”

I quickly realised that meant something really important to me. Although long demolished I can recall passing, indeed walking alongside the wall of the factory many times in the 1960’s. From this one small quote I now knew ( or so I thought) that I had learnt the exact location of one of Nottingham’s worst and bloody murders. I then recalled something else important. I could recall the older generation talking about these murders. There is a stong tradition of oral story-telling in my family and my father was the story-teller of his generation. Our extended family often gathered at my grandparents home in Sneinton of a Saturday night. It was not unusual to have three or more families together with three generations in a tiny front room. A simple meal would be served requiring numerous sittings at a small extendable table. Afterwards conversation would start, most often with the football results as this was a Notts County house. As the evening wore on the adults sometimes started telling stories and Saville’s Spinney was one that came up. I distinctly remember the reference to the boy up the tree bird-egging. This was the 1960s when collecting most birds eggs was not a crime. It was not unusual to see boys climbing trees in nearby Colwick Woods, seeking out eggs.

The website reference intriqued me and I knew there had to be more information on the internet. That one internet search turned out to be the catalyst,  the beginning of my quest. That was three years ago. Since then I have carried out extensive research, mostly in Nottingham. I started writing this story almost exactly a year ago and now it is complete. At 60,000 words plus its the longest and most detailed account I have ever written. It has 19 chapters plus introduction, prologue and epilogue.I have also added an 1844 Lexicon as some of the words used in 1844 seem not to be used today. It is a true but tragic story and many of the true facts and details have been lost in the mist of time. Was there really a boy who witnessed four cut-throat murders, out a bird-egging in Colwick in May 1844? All will be revealed in just five days time. I will be uploading a daily blog while I countdown to launch day. Each countdown blog will contain some information from the book, be it a fact, figure, soundbite or quote. Tomorrow it will centre on the Coroners Inquisition. Until tomorrow then readers…………..

PS watch out for a very very special offer to readers and followers of my blog on WordPress on launch day – this also goes out via Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn…….. you will need to have an Amazon account and a device like an Ipad, Kindle or device that can connect and download e-books………………………

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in 1844, 1844 Hanging, assizes court, Born writers, cemetery, churchyard, Colwick, Colwick Murder, Colwick Murder 1844, Colwick Woods, Coroner, Coroner's Court, Coroner's Inquest, Crime in Nottingham in the 1800s, crime writer, Crime Writing, Cut-throat murder, dead bodies, e-book, First book, first chapter, first novel, Framework Knitter, hanging, Historical crime, Ideas for writer, Kindle, Luddites, Murder in Colwick Woods, Murder in Saville's Spinney, murder mystery, Murder stories, Nottingham, Nottingham folklore, Nottingham gaol, Nottingham legend, Nottingham Murder 1844, public execution, publishing, True Crime, True Nottingham Crime, Worst Nottingham Murder, Writer, Writing, writing ideas, writing process and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

