On the trail of Manchester’s Sherlock Holmes


Fascinating stuff, will have to read more about this fascinating Manc, never knew we had our very own real-life Sherlock Holmes up here. Just goes to show how truth can be stranger than fiction…… And the year 1844 has a special significance for me. Thanks for a very interesting blog!

historyme

Jerome Caminada. Image courtesy A. Buckley. Jerome Caminada. Image courtesy A. Buckley.

My research into the extraordinary life and groundbreaking detective work of Jerome Caminada, a real-life Sherlock Holmes, has given me a unique opportunity to re-discover the colourful history of my home city. I grew up in Manchester but left almost 30 years ago to study in London and haven’t quite made it back, so I’ve thoroughly enjoyed wandering exploring places from my past, whilst bringing Detective Caminada’s story back to life.

Free Trade Hall. Image courtesy A. Buckley. Free Trade Hall. Image courtesy A. Buckley.

Jerome Caminada was born in 1844 in Peter Street, opposite the Free Trade Hall, at the time when the original wooden pavilion had just been replaced by a brick structure. (The current building was erected in 1853). His parents were from migrant families who had arrived in the city for work at the turn of the nineteenth century, along with thousands of others, in the wake…

View original post 659 more words

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in Historical crime. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the trail of Manchester’s Sherlock Holmes

  1. Victorian Supersleuth says:

    Hi Mike, thanks for re-blogging my post – I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Jerome was quite a character! Best wishes, Angela

Leave a Reply

