In the footsteps of a Murderer!


Hello again Readers.

A few days ago I returned to my old home city of Nottingham. I needed to complete some important research for my upcoming novel. I was still looking for the precise route taken by the murderer as he left his accommodation and the route he took to collect his wife and family. I was already certain of the route to the murder spot. Given this crime occured more than 100 years ago this was quite a challenge! I also wanted to walk the route they all took to the murder location, to time my walk and to establish a time-line. Why? The bad man in my story seems to have tried to cover his tracks and after the bloody deed was commited appears to have returned to Nottingham as fast as his legs could carry him. Today we would call that trying to secure an alibi. I have found no trace of that word being used in times gone by.

I managed to do the walk briskly in around an hour, if he ran some or part of the way it would be less but not likely less than thirty minutes. My lengthy and deep research has paid off. I now know the day, date, time and exact location of the murders. I paused for some liquid refreshment at an Inn with some family members and then walked to the murder site, cross-checking with some old maps.

It isnt often writers of historical crime can visit the scenes of murder and mayhem and be so absolutely sure they are in the right location. Yet I doubt I would have found the location without my own local knowledge of the landscape, of the paths and tracks and of what used to be here and is no more. As a child I used to play in the woods nearby. As a schoolboy I used to walk past this spot on my way to school. At school I learned to read and interpret maps and also studied history and english literature among other subjects.   At college as a young adult I was trained to find, collect and assimilate data ( some of which was historical)  and write detailed reports. As a teacher I used to teach Creative Writing as well as other subjects. All of these experiences seem to be converging to help me to write this amazing story.

On Saturday May 25th 2013 I walked in the footsteps of a Murderer. Now it is time to put pen to paper and to record the full and complete version of a story that I heard my family speak of as a child.  How I wish they were all around to listen to what I have discovered, they would be amazed!

These are the musings and mutterings of researcher and aspiring writer Michael Sheridan.

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in cemetery, churchyard, Crime in Nottingham in the 1800s, crime writer, Crime Writing, dead, dead bodies, first novel, graves, Historical crime, Historical Fiction, Ideas for writer, murder mystery, Murder stories, Writer, Writing, writing ideas, writing process and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In the footsteps of a Murderer!

  1. abbspepper says:

    According to my ‘shorter’ OED, alibi was in use by the late 18th century, but perhaps it took longer to reach Nottingham… Must have been fascinating to do the research on this story – can’t wait to read it.

  2. Yes the research was really enjoyable though spending all day at a microfiche or film reader is quite a challenge. I want this story to be as accurate as possible and don’t want to use words that were not in use at the time, because someone will be bound to find those kind of mistakes. Another word not in use at the time is souvenirs but I have found the right alternatives. That’s quite important as you will see when the novel is ready……………

Leave a Reply

