Talking Tablets – free writer apps for Ipad Iphone and Android devices!!


dragon dictate

Hello Readers – I am talking tablets today – and no don’t worry, I havent swallowed any! I have been a little slow to embrace the tablet computer. Its been a case of choosing the right one for me. I thought the choice was made when I ordered the Kindle Fire to replace my Keyboard Kindle. Sadly not. I have had big problems with the Kindle battery draining itself. I was not impressed with the small number of Apps in the Amazon store. To be frank I was more than a little disappointed. So I decided I could no longer resist the lure of a nice new Apple. Within 24 hours of my Ipad 4 arriving I am a total convert!

As a researcher and writer I have been looking for  low-cost, nay no-cost text to speech software so I can dictate my notes into the computer, save the file and then smash it around in Word later. I  have given up on the clunky Microsoft speech engine on my laptop. So I thought  there just might be an app that could help me. There was. A quick google search for “Free speech to text app for Ipad” gave a page full of useful hits. From one of these I found two good links to follow and for Apples it seems DRAGON DICTATE is the one. I had quickly found then downloaded the app and tentatively tried it out. Frankly I was expecting to be carted off to a page asking $99 if I wanted to save any file. I wasnt! My little test poem was converted letter for letter into a perfect paragraph. I then sent this via email to my usual email address, from where I can then open it and copy and paste any text into Word. You can also send your text to Facebook or Twitter. Now you do have to be connected online to use Dragon Dictate but then that is surely no big problem. As well as 24/7 internet at home you can also get online at most any coffee shops, bars, stations, airports and even shopping centres.

I had no idea I could use my new Ipad as a dictation machine but the possibilities are endless. As the Ipad is so portable you can take it anywhere and commit some notes as and when you need to. I am going to save a huge amount of time dictating all my research notes rather than typing them by hand.  Do you ever get words , phrases, sayings that come into your head and wish you could write down before you forget them? Or what about those crazy dreams that you keep promising you will commit to writing before you forget them? Then you also forget to write them down!

Dragon Dictate is for Ipads and Iphones but there is another app – Evernote for Androids that might help. I have included a hyperlink to the article I found below. Ok I have to go, I have got to dictate a lot of research notes from yesterday for my upcoming historical crime novel………………..

http://www.entrepreneur.com/blog/225584

These are the dictations of researcher and aspiring historical crime writer Michael Sheridan who is thrilled by the arrival of a new piece of kit – a shiny new Apple!

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in crime writer, Crime Writing, first novel, Historical crime, Historical Fiction, Ideas for writer, Ipad, Ipad for writers, publishing, Tools for Writers, Using Ipad to write, Writer, Writing, writing ideas, writing process and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

