The Genius of Gerry Anderson


xl5Hello again readers.My blog today is a tribute to an absolute legend.

If you are a boomer or baby-boomer, like me you were one of  the “lucky” generation. They say we are the blessed! Well we now know we were blessed with some of the very best TV Programs and very lucky to have been witness to the true genius of Gerry Anderson. I was lucky enough  to have watched all of Gerry’s best known series as they unfolded week by week on our black and white TV set. I can even recall Four Feather Falls, totally unlike the series that followed. What followed was Supercar and then…… Fireball XL5. Way before Star Trek, Gerry dreamed up an organisation patrolling space smartly dressed in uniform  and meeting all kinds of aliens. The ship was crewed by people, a furry alien called Zoonie and a robot, famous for declaring loudly .. “On our way ome” at the end of most episodes. The opening soundtrack was great too and even entered the pop charts on a 45 disk! This really was mind-blowing stuff for a kid still at Junior School and how I loved every episode. I am sure that Fireball and The Space Patrol  series is responsible for my life-long interest in Sci Fi.

Sadly Gerry died a few days ago but what a legacy he left behind, what enjoyment he brought into so many households every week. As writers I am sure we are all like sponges, absorbing words, ideas, phrases, images in our journey through life. Somehow, somewhere I am sure something that was witnessed, heard, noticed in one of Gerry’s many series was the spark, the very catalyst for an idea in the mind of a Sci-Fi writer ( the parallels with Star Trek are amazing!). For those interested in knowing more about Fireball XL5 just follow the link below..

http://www.aiai.ed.ac.uk/~bat/GA/fireball-overview.html

For the real Gerry Anderson fans here is a small quiz, answers will be found below the final image.

1. Where did Anderson get the idea for the name of Fireball XL5?

2. What was the one and only puppet voiced by Anderson?

3. Who provided the sexy voice for Lady Penelope in Thunderbirds?

4. Which puppet character was Andersons favourite?

Fireball DVD Fireball Robot

Answers to quiz..

1. Where did Anderson get the idea for the name of Fireball XL5?

From an advert for Castrol XL oil, Gerry liked the sound of it and added 5 to XL!

2. What was the one and only puppet voiced by Anderson?

None other than Robert the Robot in XL5!

3. Who provided the sexy voice for Lady Penelope in Thunderbirds?

It was Gerrys wife Sylvia Anderson

4. Which puppet character was Andersons favourite

Apparently it was Parker, Lady Penelope’s cockney chaffeur.

Rest in Peace Gerry  – I hope they have TV studios on the other side………

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in 1960s, dream, Entertainment, first novel, Gerry Anderson, sci-fi, Writing, writing ideas, writing process and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

