My Journey to Erebor


At last my quest is over. It has been a long search lasting more than five years. I have travelled from the depths of Yns Mon and along the coastlands through Gwynedd, Conwy, Denbighshire and Flintshire. I crossed the Plains of Cheshire,through old Lancashire and then moved into the Vale of York. All to no avail, what I sought could not be found. Then re-tracing my steps I paused in the High Peak and a shaft of sunlight breaking through a cloud revealed at last what my heart desired!

Here in the hills of the High Peak, where the air is cool and the skies are clear I found my own Erebor, my own golden kingdom where I will spend my golden years. This quest has been perilous and this last year without doubt  the most difficult. My strength, patience my very health has been pushed to the limit. There have been times when I feared I would not make it. I have had to say goodbye to so many treasured possessions and leave a lifetime of memories behind. The fickle hand of fate threw many obstacles into my path and these last two weeks have been almost beyond endurance. No matter, it is over, I am now safely installed in my new abode. I have hills and streams, valleys, woods and forests to explore and all the sweeter as they are all new to me. They say the snows will come soon and we may be snowed in. Bring it on! I am finally at peace and I can already feel the stress and strains of the journey beginning to leave me. My quest has been accomplished. Here I will spend my final days.  Here I can write, here is where it begins………….at last I can take up my pen again.

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in crime writer, Crime Writing, dream, first novel, Historical crime, Historical Fiction, Ideas for writer, Magic, publishing, Writing, writing ideas, writing process and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

