The Next Big Thing Blog Chain


I was hugely surprised but very grateful to Emma McCoy for nominating me for the Next Big Thing Blog Event. Emma has been following my blog from the outset. In turn I have been following her work and progress with interest, not the least because she was way ahead of me in the writing and publishing process.  I have been following Emma’s blog as she was writing and publishing her novel “Saving Angels” You can hop onto Emmas Blog on the following link

http://emmamccoy.wordpress.com/about/.

Apparently the idea behind The Next Big Thing is to answer ten questions about a current work in progress. Well, here goes!

1.What is the working title of your work in progress?

I will likely have two titles ie a main one and then the OR option. Curent main title “The Unconscious Cause of the Whole”,  the Or option……..  “The Colwick Tragedy”. These may be revised when writing is complete………. I do have another main title.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

Quite literally from a google search for information about the locality in Nottingham, England where I used to live. I stumbled upon a real life story of one of the very worst murders ever recorded and I realised it was very very near to a house which was once my family home

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Most definitely in the historical crime genre.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

The bad guy is really really bad yet really calm under great stress, needs to be someone with longish dark hair and a long nose ( I have an illustration of the actual murderer!) height around 5 foot six. Any ideas anyone?

PS Billy Bob Thornton with long hair to shoulders and side burns would be very close to the actual appearance of the very real life murderer in the story.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A doomed  love triangle that will have deadly consequences, a set of bloody  murders followed by a public execution that will see an entire family destroyed and yet more deaths and serious injuries, 22 will die, four by a cut-throat razor !!

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published and it will start life as an e-book, definitely on Amazon and maybe on  other sites too.

7.  How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Nowhere near complete, definitely a work in progress. I am using my blog to keep a track of my progress. Currently completely stalled by a house move taking place in seven days!

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

“The Suspicions of Mr Whicher” By Kate Summerscale. I like the huge amount of research and data in this book about a cut-throat child murder and was going to write my book in this style ie use only the established facts gleaned from historical sources. This book is based on a real life story from 1860, thats some years after my story. There is another reason I could mention but that will be revealed in my blog … and why!

Also “The Last Days of Newgate” by Andrew Pepper. This is not based on a real life story, more a story of the times in which it is set but has used great historical detail to tell a tale of “brutal murder and cunning conspiracies”. Set in 1829 its some years before my story, very violent and very bloody.

My book may be described as a  fusion of the two styles used by the above writers, they have definitely inspired me.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

Stumbling upon a reference on the internet to  a location near a former home. I had heard this site name mentioned by my family and after more research realised I had grown up and often walked very close to the site of a set of bloody murders. I also realised that many generations of my own family were familiar with the story and would have told their own versions of it. Speaking to an aunt gleaned the fact that my late father used to take people to the exact location of the murders where he would regale them with his version of this tragic tale! My research trail provided a huge amount of amazing data and I decided I simply had to set it all out as a novel and record my own  deeply researched version of this story. My late father was the story teller of his generation, like father like son!

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Its a real life story, its never been properly researched and the research also took me to another amazing unknown real life murder story which may be mentioned in  the novel, and which I will leave other readers, researchers and writers to pursue.

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in ballad sellers, cemetery, churchyard, Crime in Nottingham in the 1800s, crime writer, Crime Writing, dead bodies, death hunters, e-book, execution broadsides, first novel, graves, gravestones, hanging, Historical crime, Historical Fiction, Ideas for writer, murder mystery, Murder stories, Nottingham, public execution, publishing, synopsis, Uncategorized, writing ideas, writing process and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Next Big Thing Blog Chain

  1. Emma McCoy says:

    It sounds fascinating!

    • Sometimes truth can be stranger than fiction! It really is a quite amazing and tragic tale and here’s some good news….as a blog follower you will be offered a free full download when its finally published, I might even ask for a few critical friends to have a pre-publised copy too and ask for some comments.

Leave a Reply

