What does this dream mean?


Hello again readers, and apologies for my absence in the blogosphere. I am currently approaching the end of a near year -long process that has been described as one of the most stressful experiences we can go through – moving house! Let me tell you something important about this – it sure as hell doesnt get any easier as you get older, in fact its been the toughest year in my life so far bar just one!

So with little opportunity to write or even research with so many jobs to project manage I decided I would blog about the most amazing dream I had earlier this year. Have you ever had a dream which was something really different? A dream which you felt was really telling you or warning you about something? A dream with a message? A dream which impacted on someone you love? A dream you wanted to return to? Ok my dream will now begin……..

I found myself exploring an unfamiliar and clearly old building and found myself in a large room with a fireplace over which was a large old mirror. Looking in the mirror I became aware of a wooden staircase which ascended up the wall which was behind me. Then I heard a noise, a creaking noise like someone walking on the floor boards above me – heavy steps with a familiar rhythm. The steps were moving towards the top of the staircase behind me and then I saw….. a pair of shoes at the top of the stairs in the mirror. I was not afraid and I kept looking into the mirror. The shoes started to descend the stairs then trousers came into view and eventually a young man came fully into view. He came half-way down the stairs then stopped and looked directly at me through the mirror. I knew this man! He then came right down to the foot of the stairs, walked right up to the mirror and looked at me straight in the eye. His eyes were not blinking! I recognised the man now, it was me or should I say it was a much younger version of me, slimmer, head full of dark hair and snappily dressed as I was in my early 20’s. I walked directly up to the mirror and raised my right hand. The other me in the mirror did exactly the same at the same time. I then placed my right hand on the mirror and this was matched by my doppelganger. We then stood simply staring at each other for a number of seconds and then…..the younger me simply turned around and started slowly walking back up the stairs without even looking back. I started shouting … come back, Come Back, COME BACK!!! No response, the figure reached the top of the stairs, turned onto another short flight of steps and then I could hear footsteps slowly dissipate above me.

The next thing I knew I seemed to be floating just below the ceiling in my bedroom. I was looking down at my own bed and saw my own sleeping form but there was something wrong. My wife was sitting up and looking at me with a very serious and scared look on her face.

My dream was now over. I woke up, turned to my left and saw my wife…. sitting up and looking at me with a very serious and scared look on her face! She said I had been breathing in a very very strange way. Apparently it sounded like I  had been struggling to breathe and was taking very large and deep breaths before suddenly stopping and reverting to normal breathing. My wife knows all about my family history of heart problems and I do have high blood pressure, she really thought I was in some kind of trouble. I told her all about my dream which in some way does link my breathing to my dream state.

Ask yourself a simple question. How do you shout? You take in a large breath first right? Ok so how do you shout louder? You take an even deeper breath ect ect. So in my dream I was shouting but back in reality my body was taking in large gulps of air so I could shout….. in my dream?

Ok so what does all this mean. Well what do you think reader? It could be that I wanted to rediscover my youth, wanted to be young again. Could it be my fertile imagination? I was reading The Picture of Dorian Gray at the time and really enjoyed it.

I have not had this dream again but should it happen I have resolved to try to do something. I am going to try and pass through the mirror and climb the stairs. I know the dangers, know the omens. If I do this I may not be able to come back. The really serious question though is….. if I were to regain my youth in the dream state……. would I want to come back to this world?

NOTE WELL. This dream really happened and I havent made this story up.

These are the writings and witterings of aspiring writer and researcher Michael Sheridan who hopes to back soon with some kind of dark Christmas short story, post moving house of course…………

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in Dorian Gray, dream, dream state, meaning of dreams, Writing, writing ideas, writing process and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

