When your Kindle Krashes!!


DONT panic! It happened to me yesterday. There I was trying to use the browser in a cafe and the screen just froze as I tried to open a web page. I wasnt too bothered at first. This has happened before and always during a very very slow browsing experience ( cant wait for my new faster Kindle Fire to arrive). Anyway when I looked at the Kindle this morning the screen was still frozen……. oh dear!

Never fear, I turned to the one place where I normally find an answer to every problem – Google! A quick search for “Why has my Kindle Frozen” produced some excellent advice and I have included the link below. I followed some more useful links and then following the advice found I quickly had my Kindle working again. So how do you unfreeze a frozen Kindle?

1. Push the power-on slider button to the right and hold it there for up to one minute. When the screen goes white the re-set has begun. This may be all you have to do as on powering up your Kindle may work again as normal but I went for the full factory reset…

2. Now hold down the home button until you see a new screen pop-up inviting you to type in Reset on your Kindle Keyboard. Doing this and pressing accept will give you the full factory reset. BEWARE, this will also wipe out any files or bookmarks you have BUT wont delete any books you have downloaded.

3. You will now find you cannot access any of your downloaded books but DONT worry they are all archived in the Amazon Cloud.

4. With a factory re-set your Kindle has been de-registered, so you have to re-register it but ..

5. First you must restore your network / internet connection with your log-in and password  and then access your account with Amazon.

6. With this done you should see the word Archived and in brackets the number of e-books in your personal archive. Selecting archived will give your list of e-books and then you choose the ones you want downloading back onto your Kindle again. Couldnt find any quick way to get them all but it does let you leave ones you have already read back on the Amazon Cloud.

Thats it and here is the really good news, you have just saved £40 as that is what Amazon will charge you for a factory re-set if you send your Kindle back to them.

PS My Keyboard Kindle is more than 12 months old and out of warranty.

Here is that promised weblink

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/advice/9590203/Why-has-my-Kindle-frozen.html

Have fun with your Kindle and if your screen freezes – yes you can fix it!!

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in e-book, fixing a Kindle, Kindle, Kindle problems, Kindle screen frozen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

