Murder – Joint Enterprise


Murder – Joint Enterprise.

It isnt often I find a TV program even better than I imagined it would be. I read the advance blurb about it and knew it was filmed in my old home town of Nottingham. Well that was one good reason to watch . I also knew it was a murder story and it was going to be told in a different sort of way. Now add the killer touch ( pardon my pun) It was directed by Birger Larsen well known for directing “The Killing” It did not disappoint…

Synopsis: A woman lies dead in a Nottingham flat, her sister
barricaded in the bathroom. Early in the morning a young man in a bloodstained shirt is pulled over for speeding. The three only met that previous afternoon – so what happened in those final hours? The only evidence is what the two survivors say.

Birger Larsen, director on The Killing, came to the UK to direct this docu-style murder drama. Nottingham was chosen as the location, not least for the fact it was once known as the murder capital of the UK. The drama lasts for one hour with three central characters, Erin, her sister Coleen and Stefan plus a supporting cast of secondary characters inc prosecution barrister, and police officer. The story is told to camera and includes aerial views of Nottingham, CCTV , family photos and flashbacks of the action plus evidence photos. As the story is told the viewer can make up their own minds about who is the guilty party in this most unsual whodunnit. Midsomer Murders it is not! As with all good stories there is a twist at the end but I wont spoil it by spilling the beans here…….

Those able to view it on the BBC Iplayer can find it here…

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01mgkpn/Murder_Joint_Enterprise/

There is a promo already on Youtube for anyone outside of the UK here..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlyOv9t1frc

As a writer it has certainly inspired me… to think about how I will tell my story, what I will and wont tell the readers, how to structure the tale inc the ending. It will also help me when I come to make my own promo / trailer.

Oh yes and the title? Not something I knew about. Apparently its legal speak when two people are believed to have been jointly involved in a murder. So the really important question is….. is it a joint enterprise or not?

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in crime writer, Crime Writing, dead, dead bodies, joint enterprise, murder mystery, Murder stories, Nottingham, Writing, writing process and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

