What is in a Name?


Hello again readers – yes it really is me, I am the bakersfieldlad who started this blog only a few short weeks back. At that time and still new to WordPress I couldnt find a way to write under my real name, my given name and the first name my mother chose for me ie Michael Sheridan. So I chose a name reflecting a place where I once lived. I will always listen to advice and when a published author advises me to do something I am not going to argue. Beth Anderson, Washington State based writer and author was kind enough to give me some pointers …

“it would be a good idea for you to start promoting your name by deciding what name you’re going to use and then putting it on this website, on all the pages where you can.  Here’s why.  Agents will tell you, and when you think about this, you’ll realize why they say this: It’s not the book, it’s you.  In other words, a lot of YOU is going to go into your promotion all along the way and since you’ll be writing more than one book, you might as well start now, while you’re writing these blog pages”

And of course she is absolutely correct, a lot of me has already gone into this blog and more will follow. The blog is meant to promote my work and writing but I am also leaving a trail that can be followed back to the origin of my writing.  So from now on my blog will bear my full name, the one I was christened with and its the full version, I dont have a middle name! My surname is Irish and I am descended from a catholic Irish family. It is of course a surname well known in the literary world and I wont be the first Sheridan to put pen to paper and be a published author. I will however be  the first in my family. Speaking of family I have no problem in thinking of dedications for any and all future novels. The first story I will write is one my family know and one they shared and enjoyed in an age before radio and TV. They all had their own ideas and theories about it and also where the dreadful deed took place. With the benefit of a very good education behind me I have managed to follow a trail of evidence going back over 150 years. This will hopefully allow me to create the final and authoritative story  version….. and publish it under my full and family name.

This is aspiring writer and researcher Michael Sheridan signing off for now……… will be back soon though with some thoughts and info about……… executions!

About bakersfieldlad

July 2015...... I published my first book on Amazon - "Savilles Spinnney". On April 1st 2015 I published my second book - "Arsenic Sally". Christmas Day 2015 I published my third book " Murder Mystery and Mayhem on the Railways 1830-1899. That's 3 books in roughly 18 months. I enjoy researching and see no reason to stop writing. There will be many many more books and while I would love to be taken in by a publisher I am content to make my books available via Amazon. Keep checking my blogs for updates about my upcoming projects......
This entry was posted in cemetery, churchyard, Crime in Nottingham in the 1800s, crime writer, Crime Writing, dead, dead bodies, first novel, graves, gravestones, Historical crime, Historical Fiction, murder mystery, Murder stories, Nottingham, publishing, Uncategorized, Writing, writing process and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

